AC Laminate Floor Ratings Explained

Residential Buildings

Commercial and Public Buildings

AC 1

AC 2

AC 3

AC 4

AC 5

Moderate loads and traffic
e.g. bedrooms, guestrooms etc.
Normal loads and traffic
e.g. living rooms, dining rooms etc.
Heavy loads and traffic
e.g. kitchens, corridors, home offices etc.
Moderate loads and traffic
e.g. hotel rooms, small offices, meeting rooms etc.
Normal loads and traffic
e.g. offices, waiting rooms, boutiques etc.
Heavy loads and traffic
e.g. large offices, shops, public buildings etc.
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33

The diagram above shows the AC ratings with their associated symbols and their suitable uses.  

Further Information:

Most European laminate flooring manufacturers belong to the Association of European Producers of Laminate Flooring (EPLF). This cooperative was formed to develop industry standards and provide consumers with a means of identifying the usage level of laminate flooring.   The common term used to denote the durability of laminate flooring is its “AC” rating. AC ratings represent a laminate’s resistance to abrasion, impact, stains and cigarette burns. The ratings also indicate that the product has been tested for the effects of furniture legs, castors, and swelling along its edges. If a laminate flooring product has a rating, then it has passed all of the test criteria. Failing just one test will disqualify a product.   The AC rating levels are designated from AC1 through to AC5. Each is represented by international pictographs reflecting the product’s application and durability. The primary application is divided into two groups: residential and commercial. Each group is further divided into traffic intensity levels: moderate, general, or heavy.   It is wise to choose flooring with a clearly visible performance classification. This will ensure that the product is tested and fulfils all of the resistance criteria. The right product will pay for itself in the long term.